Sign up now for Deals, Gear Reviews, and More

The MME Guitar Newsletter

View our privacy policy and terms

10am-6pm Mon-Friday / 10am-5pm Saturday ET

Brandon Coleman Quartet - Infinite Loop (CD)

Available in store: Check availability
7 in stock

Available in store

On its way to you today! Most orders ship SAME DAY if order placed by 2:00pm ET, Monday-Friday
Free same day pickup! Buy online, pick up in store. Easy!

Brandon Coleman is pleased to announce the highly anticipated release of his sophomore album, INFINITE LOOP. This latest release from the up-and-coming composer and jazz guitarist features nine of Coleman’s original compositions and one reimagining of
Jerome Kern’s standard, “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes.” Providing additional talent for this album are pianist, Keigo Hirakawa, bassist, Matt Wiles, and drummer, Jeff Mellott.

INFINITE LOOP spotlights Coleman’s unique compositional voice through his exploration of texture and new musical sounds. For this album, Coleman draws his inspiration not only from classic jazz material, evident in his Lennie Tristano-esque, “I Fell”, but also from contemporary classical genres and Appalachian folk music. “Hoopwood” harkens back to the haunting melodic simplicity of Eastern Kentucky folk music, while Coleman’s title track “Infinite Loop” explores the minimalistic, free-compositional style of today’s classical music and moves forward unhindered by the traditional constraints of tonal harmony. Coleman gives a distinct nod to American music theorist Harry Partch through his use of the 24-tone octave in his concluding composition, “Engram”, which he accomplishes
by adding additional frets to his guitar.

Though Coleman’s engaging compositions can be seen as the stars of INFINITE LOOP, it is Coleman’s immense musical vocabulary and excellent technical skill, paired with the fluent communication between himself, Hirakawa, Wiles, and Mellott, that allow his newest release to shine.

1. Hoopwood 06:45
2. I Fell 05:18
3. Morphic Gate 01:35
4. Bathynerita 05:39
5. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes 07:49
6. Infinite Loop 06:13
7. Frozen Lake 06:01
8. Orb 02:42
9. A Key 08:06
10. Engram 01:18

released February 9, 2017

Brandon Coleman - Guitar, Guitar Synth
Keigo Hirakawa - Piano
Matt Wiles - Bass
Jeff Mellott - Drums

Mixed by - Chris Weeda
Mastered by - Morgan Sizer/Mozu Mastering
Album Art - Dru Longhofer

For more,

Official Site

No Hassle Returns
No Hassle Returns
Not happy with your purchase? We make it easy.
Have questions? See our return policy